Welcome to Reading is the New Black!

Hello readers!

My name is Mimie and I’m a book-a-holic. 

I have been an voracious reader since Elementary school. Reading multiple books at a time … staying up later than I should because I just HAVE TO finish it … easily dropping money on as many books as I can afford at a book store. Does this sound like you too?

What inspired me to start this blog is … myself. I’m Black, or African-American for those of you who insist that I be politically correct. While reading, every once and a while I’ll complain about not reading about characters who are “like me” or I’ll look disdainfully at the selection of African-American books at a book store. No offense if you like “urban fiction,” but I don’t. Then it hit me! Take the time to search out books by and about Black people. They exist … you just need to work a little bit harder.

So that’s what I’m doing. I’m working a little bit harder to read the types of things that I want to read. Consider this website like a casual book club. I hope to reach other readers of all backgrounds to want to read good books and have good discussion. A book is always better when you have someone to talk about it with after.

Over the next couple of posts I’ll put up the books that I’m interested in reading of the course of 2013 and a post about how this blog will run ( I need some time to finish setting up all the infrastructure).

 

Happy Reading!!

– Mimie

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

